You are currently viewing Canada introduces visa-free travel to 13 countries including the Philippines

Exciting news! Canada has expanded its eTA program by adding 13 new countries to the list. This means that travelers from these countries can now apply for an eTA to visit Canada, making the process more convenient and accessible.

In a significant development, The Honourable Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship of Canada, has unveiled the inclusion of 13 countries in the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. This announcement brings a favorable change for travelers from these countries meeting specific criteria. Specifically, individuals who have held a Canadian visa within the past 10 years or currently possess a valid non-immigrant visa from the United States can now opt for an eTA instead of a traditional visa when embarking on air travel to Canada. This progressive measure aims to streamline the entry process and facilitate smoother journeys for eligible travelers.


Canada introduces visa-free program to 13 more countries including the Philippines! #travel #canada #visafree

♬ Daylight – David Kushner

Commencing on 6 June 2023, the program will extend its benefits to eligible travelers hailing from the following countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

What is an eTA?

An Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) is a requirement for foreign nationals who do not require a visa to travel to Canada by air. This digital authorization is electronically linked to the traveler’s passport and remains valid for up to five years or until the passport’s expiration date, whichever occurs first. It’s important to note that obtaining a new passport necessitates obtaining a new eTA.

Once you have a valid eTA, you can make multiple trips to Canada for short stays, typically up to six months each time. It’s worth mentioning that an eTA is not necessary for travel within Canada.

However, it’s crucial to understand that possessing an eTA does not guarantee automatic entry into Canada. Upon arrival, a border services officer will request your passport and other relevant documents. It is your responsibility to satisfy the officer that you meet the eligibility requirements for entry into Canada.

How much does an eTA cost?

The eTA application carries a fee of CAN$7, and the majority of applications receive automatic approval within minutes.

What do you need to secure an eTA?

Applying for an eTA is a straightforward process that requires travelers to have a few essential items: a valid passport, a credit card, an email address, and access to the Internet.

How do I apply for an eTA for travel to Canada?

Only apply for an eTA on the official Government of Canada website.

Discounted Tours in Canada

Are you searching for budget-friendly guided tours in Canada? Look no further! Explore these incredible discounted tour options in Canada that can be conveniently booked online, guaranteeing an unforgettable experience during your stay.

Leave a Reply